What We Do:

The Pediatric Anesthesiology Division of ACCM strives to put children and their families at ease while providing the highest level of expert care in the operating rooms and pediatric intensive care unit at the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center. Our Pediatric Anesthesiologists have all received specialty training in the anesthetic care of children and are dedicated to helping families feel comfortable with their child’s specific anesthetic care plan. The Pediatric Anesthesia Division also provides pediatric pain services to inpatient units throughout the hospital.

Dr. Kudchadkar’s Vision for Growth in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Sapna Kudchadkar started her pediatrics residency at Johns Hopkins planning to be a general pediatrician. Then she began her rotations in the pediatric intensive care unit and operating rooms — and found her calling.

“I loved the high acuity, how everything was constantly changing, how you had to make decisions in the moment but still had to have a very broad understanding of pediatric medicine. That really appealed to me and my personality,” says Kudchadkar.

During her nearly 20 years at Johns Hopkins since then, Kudchadkar completed a residency in anesthesiology, fellowships in pediatric anesthesiology and critical care medicine, and a doctorate at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; joined the faculty in anesthesiology and critical care medicine and in pediatrics; and directed the pediatric critical care clinical research program — all while developing her own research path.

In January, she took on an important new role: vice chair for pediatric anesthesiology and critical care medicine (pediatric ACCM) and anesthesiologist-in-chief of Johns Hopkins Children’s Center.

Continue reading: A Vision for Growth in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine