Anesthesia for Very Low Birth Weight Infants

Watch Webcast
Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2023

Lydia M. Jorge-Reynolds, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
Director of Pediatric Transplantation
Director of Pediatric Anesthesia Fellowship Program
University of Miami Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology


  • Discuss differences between LBW, VLVW, ELBW, prematurity
  • Common physiologic characteristics of VLBW patient
  • Anesthetic considerations for frequent surgical interventions in VLBW patients

Lydia Jorge-Reynolds, MD is a graduate of Meharry Medical College. She completed her anesthesiology residency and pediatric anesthesia fellowship at the University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital with a special interest in medical education and pediatric transplantation. She is double board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Dr. Jorge-Reynolds joined the Division of Pediatric Anesthesia at the University of Miami as faculty in 2007 in which she served as Associate Director for pediatric anesthesia fellowship program. With over a decade of experience in education and training of anesthesia residents and pediatric anesthesia fellows, she was promoted to Program Director for the Pediatric Anesthesia Fellowship Program at University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital in June of 2017.

Her goals are not only to continue the excellent didactic and clinical training in a diverse, inclusive, collegial environment, but to also increase collaboration with other fellowship programs. Working at one of the largest pediatric transplant centers in the southeastern United States, Dr. Jorge-Reynolds developed a special interest in the perioperative management and care of one the pediatric solid organ transplant recipient. She has helped develop transplant protocols and improve notification system with the goals to minimize cold ischemic times and reduce graft failure. Her contributions to this specialty were recognized by the Miami Transplant Institute and she was promoted to the first ever position of Director of Pediatric Transplant in 2020.

As an active FSA member, she serves as a District 5 Director for the Florida Society of Anesthesiology and advocate for physician led team practices.