The Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine is proud to acknowledge four recipients of the prestigious Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians Awards for Clinical Excellence.

Dr. Jamie MurphyMURPHY-jamie, ACCM’s Division Chief for Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Fetal Anesthesia, was awarded the Excellence in Service and Professionalism Award. This award is given to an individual physician who actively promotes a culture that embraces, expects and rewards the delivery of patient-and family-centered care. Dr. Murphy joined the Johns Hopkins Faculty in 2007 and is a clinical expert in routine and high-risk obstetric anesthesia. Her research interests include postpartum hemorrhage, postpartum analgesia and post-cesarean section pain management. In addition to designing a comprehensive educational program for faculty and residents focused on delivering Patient-and Family-Centered Care in Anesthesia, Dr. Murphy recently implemented a Post-Partum Quality of Care Evaluation that collects data to help her team improve experience and outcomes for patients receiving obstetric anesthesia.

Kudchadkar_Sapna.06062016Dr. Sapna Kudchadkar and her team received the Clinical Collaboration and Teamwork Award for their PICU Up! Early Mobilization Program. This award is given to a team that builds effective collaborative relationships across different groups to define and resolve problems, engage in shared decision-making, and foster cooperation and open communication. The PICU Up! Program aims to create a culture of mobility for critically ill children in the pediatric intensive care unit through a multicomponent approach to reduce sedation and prevent delirium. The program was developed by a working group of physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, respiratory therapists, physical and occupational therapists, child life specialists, and speech pathologists. Dr. Kudchadkar is an attending physician in both the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit and Pediatric Operating Rooms. She is also the Director of the PICU Clinical Research Program, facilitating and supervising investigator-initiated studies and overseeing sponsored projects in multi-centered studies.

Sateri_Sara.07262016Dr. Sara Sateri and her team received the Clinical Collaboration and Teamwork Award at Bayview Medical Center. Dr. Sateri represented the Anesthesia team in Bayview’s Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) implementation alongside her surgical and nursing colleagues to achieve significant reductions in length of stay and readmissions while increasing patient satisfaction scores. Dr. Sateri received her medical education at George Washington University School of Medicine and completed her residency at Duke University School of Medicine before joining Bayview Medical Center as a Clinical Associate. Her experiences at Duke brought a unique perspective to the ERAS team – enhancing variables to consider and engaging the Regional Pain team to positively impact patient recovery and experience.

marquis_bernard-07262016Dr. Bernard Marquis and the Surgical Services Committee received the Clinical Collaboration and Teamwork Award at Howard County General Hospital. This committee is devoted to achieving the highest-quality and evidence-based care through open communication and teamwork, and has become a model for other committees within the hospital. Dr. Marquis joined ACCM in 2015 and is the Division Chief for the Howard County General Hospital’s Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine.

Congratulations to Dr. Murphy, Dr. Kudchadkar, Dr. Sateri and Dr. Marquis on receiving these well-deserved honors. They were all recognized at the 2nd Annual Celebration of Clinical Excellence on December 6th at Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Dr. Sateri will be additionally recognized at a celebration at Bayview Medical Center on January 4th.